Tags

, , , , ,

download

I grew up in the Midwest United States; the State of Michigan to be exact. For many years as a child, I enjoyed the pleasures that a fresh snowfall brought to the land. It covered the leaves that had been overlooked or ignored by those that could not or did not want to remove them.

images (1)

 

There was many a day that we enjoyed sledding in the snow or walking across the frozen waters of Paw Paw Lake.

images  Watervliet

 

Then came the days when I grew older, and with those days of maturing age came the responsibility of removing the snow from the driveway and sidewalks, not to mention the task of learning to drive in the cold, wet, slippery stuff; not so much fun!

 

images (2)  winter 78
I never dreamed that the stuff that I grew to dislike so very much would be a topic of blessing that I would research from the Word of God.

 

Snow in the Bible

When I found out that it was God that gave us the snow I began to think of it in a different light. I should be honest though and say that I now live on the Gulf Coast; far from the snowy winters, but, I can still appreciate the beauty from afar.

(Psalms 147:16) He giveth snow like wool: he scattereth the hoarfrost like ashes. (KJV)

images (3)

Snow is also used figuratively by the writers of the Bible, for example:

(Job 24:19) Drought and heat consume the snow waters: so doth the grave those which have sinned. (KJV)

images (4)

(Psalms 51:7) Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. (KJV)

images (5)

(Isaiah 1:18) Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool. (KJV)

images (6)

Valiant acts took place in the time of snow.

(2 Samuel 23:20) And Benaiah the son of Jehoiada, the son of a valiant man, of Kabzeel, who had done many acts, he slew two lionlike men of Moab: he went down also and slew a lion in the midst of a pit in time of snow: (KJV)

images (7)

Snow is also refreshing.

(Proverbs 25:13) As the cold of snow in the time of harvest, so is a faithful messenger to them that send him: for he refresheth the soul of his masters. (KJV)

images (8)

What is the message? It is the Gospel.

download2

(1 Corinthians 15:1-4) Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand; By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain. For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures: (KJV)

images

 

