Tags

, , ,

(Luke 24:32) And they said one to another, Did not our heart burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the scriptures?  (KJV)

As I consider this verse I must ask myself these questions:

  • Does my heart burn to know what Christ is saying to me through His Word?
  • Can I say that the words that I am keeping in my heart are the words that the LORD would have me to meditate upon, or is there something other than the Word of God burning within my heart?
  • Do I desire to have a burning heart for the Savior?

Bible study

 

I am not going to put on a front of being super spiritual because I am not. I am a child of the King of kings. I was bought by the redeeming blood of Jesus Christ on September, 10, 2000. I am saved, sealed and secure because of the death, burial and ressurrection of Jesus Christ, and yet at times my heart is drawn away from the one who loves me more than anyone else could.

What burns within my heart? Is it entertainment that fills the place where Jesus should be? Is it issues concerning family or work? Do the cares of this world ovaertake my thoughts and my time that I have to serve Christ. These things in and of themselves are not always a sinful act unless they draw the attention away from prayer and the study of the Word of God.

Simply put is God’s Word important to me? Is Jesus Christ important to me? He is the Word afterall.

(John 1:1-5) In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The same was in the beginning with God. All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. In him was life; and the life was the light of men. And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.  (KJV)

(John 1:14) And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.  (KJV)

Can I truly proclaim that I love God if I do not have a love for His Word?

 

bible-998150__180

(Psalms 1:1-2) Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.  (KJV)

(Jeremiah 15:16) Thy words were found, and I did eat them; and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart: for I am called by thy name, O LORD God of hosts.  (KJV)

 

