Tags

, , , , , ,

Cautiousness vs. rashness

WHAT IS CAUTIOUSNESS?

Cautiousness starts with the recognition that we have natural ways that contradict God’s ways

CAUTIOUSNESS – BEING CAREFUL

RASHNESS – BEING HASTY OR HURRYING

Another word for cautious is carefulness. When we are cautious or careful we take our time in doing whatever task is at hand. We think about the consequences of our actions.

(Isaiah 55:8-9) For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. (KJV)

(Proverbs 19:2) Also, that the soul be without knowledge, it is not good; and he that hasteth with his feet sinneth. (KJV)

Prayer
Example: How many of you have ever been on roller skates/blades? (get volunteer to demonstrate)

I think back to when I was 10 and learning to skate. My friends are going around the rink, spinning in circles, doing back flips, skating backwards and then there is me, just learning how to skate. I hugged the rail going around to rink and was doing just fine. I was being cautious. I didn’t want to fall down and cause pain or injury to my body.

Then my friend Jim (age 13) comes by me and does something that was very rash. He grabs me by the arm and drags me to the center of the floor and leaves me there. Now I am forced to fight for my life. I manage to get to my feet and I have just one goal in mind; to get back to the rail. With arms and legs flopping about like an octopus out of the water I managed to make it back to the safety of the wall. I did eventually learn to skate, but not right away.

Today I want to look into the Word of God and see two individuals; one cautious about his actions and one that responded in a rash manner and then look at some areas that we should use caution in our lives.

Cautiousness

Daniel 1:1-8 (The response to the king’s order)

Daniel 1:10-16 (The results of Daniel’s decision)

Daniel 1:17 (The rewards of his decision)

Rashness

2 Samuel 11:1-5

David acted hastily or with rashness (committed adultery and murdered Uriah) and it cost him much.

David’s sin found out – (Numbers 32:23) But if ye will not do so, behold, ye have sinned against the LORD: and be sure your sin will find you out. (KJV)

2 Sam. 12:1-10

David was king and could have anything he wanted.

The lesson: just because we can have something doesn’t mean that we should have it.
BE CAUTIOUS IN OUR:

SPEECH:

(1 Thessalonians 5:18) In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. (KJV)

(Proverbs 12:25) Heaviness in the heart of man maketh it stoop: but a good word maketh it glad. (KJV)

(Psalms 111:4) He hath made his wonderful works to be remembered: the LORD is gracious and full of compassion. (KJV)

The Bible teaches us to have thankful words (cautious; I’m thankful that someone gave me this object for my birthday) {rashness; I didn’t want one of these for my birthday. I wanted a _________.}

Do our words lift up others or do they tear them down?

Do they show love and compassion instead of cutting others down even if it was only “the way we do things.”

ACTIONS:

Be hospitable – (1 Peter 4:9) Use hospitality one to another without grudging. (KJV)

To be hospitable is to do something for someone without expecting a reward.

Be honest – (Colossians 3:9) Lie not one to another, seeing that ye have put off the old man with his deeds; (KJV)

Pray for others – (Luke 22:31-32) And the Lord said, Simon, Simon, behold, Satan hath desired to have you, that he may sift you as wheat: But I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not: and when thou art converted, strengthen thy brethren. (KJV)

WITNESS:

Be cautious when we witness to others.

Proclaim the truth – (John 14:6) Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. (KJV)

(Proverbs 14:5) A faithful witness will not lie: but a false witness will utter lies. (KJV)

(1 Peter 3:15) But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear: (KJV)

1. Be cautious – think before speaking and acting.

2. Be cautious in your speech.

3. Be cautious in your actions.

4. Be cautious in your witness.

(2 Peter 3:9) The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance. (KJV)

